Ribfest 2012

It’s crowded, sweaty, messy and even boozy at times, but being able to freely flaunt your gluttony over various forms of barbequed pork, super sugary sodas, deep fried sweet things and deep fried anything and NOT be negatively judged comes only a few times a year. Ribfest is one of those summer events where memories are formed and an unhealthy taste for meat is forged at an early age (for me at least!). I will be the first to admit I organize part of my summer around the Rotary Club’s annual Ribfests and I’m not even sure what the history or significance is behind the club really is! (I’m sure this link will tell me and I have yet to read about it.)

Just typing this entry is causing me to salivate…

Ribfest is one of those rare all-inclusive events – a mash-up of everyone from families, rebellious teens, old fogies, yuppies, those who only wear “wife-beaters” and trucker hats, hipsters and everything in between. And everyone has the same objective: to find the BBQ stall with the best ribs!!

Here are my tips for navigating the stalls:

  1. Check out the hardware – it’s a competition, so see what they’ve won!
  2. Scope out the line – longer the line, possibly the better the ribs…(not always the case, so judge wisely)
  3. Check out the sauce application technique – I’m a big saucy rib fan, the more sauce, the more I love it. A good saucy application is when they use that huge moppy looking thing and drench the sauce on the ribs every 2 seconds. If you see that, you’re golden!
  4. Watch the grilling process – this is how you choose the quality over the quantity stalls. I’ve seen a guy grill up some ribs, looked at it, taste it and throw out some ribs because they weren’t good enough. I got some ribs there and they were the BEST RIBS EVER!

And lastly, the 2012 Rotary Club Ribfest schedule.

Feastmode, y’all!!!

Leave a Reply

