On the Mind: David Rocco and his Dolce Vita

Italy courted me for many years from a distance. I’m not sure when it all started, but my love for la dolce vita was fostered from a young age with my first spaghetti meal. I’m not sure if this should be credited to Chef Boyaredee or a random mix of tomato sauce with Chinese noodles, regardless, from that first taste I have never looked back. I will unshamingly admit I used to eat 3 plates of spaghetti and numerous helpings of my mom’s lasagna.

Those were the days!

My obsession increased when I started watching Giada Di Laurentiis on the Food Network. Her dishes were so easy to make and simple. That smile doesn’t hurt either. But it wasn’t until I watched David Rocco’s Dolce Vita that I became committed to Italian food and life…forever.

Rocco paints a portrait of Italian life filled with…well, I think what most of us feel Italian life is about – family, friends, food, wine and chillin’ somewhere outside either on the streets of Roma, Firenze or by the water.

Alright, I know it’s a TV show, it’s for entertainment and it needs to appeal to the masses blah blah blah, but watching Rocco go about his daily Italian life with his lovely wife and joker friends really makes a person wish they lived in Italy.

It also doesn’t help sitting at work knowing that at this time last year I was livin’ la dolce vita, wandering the streets of Rome, feasting on some carbonara, sipping some vino, basking in the hot Tuscan sun among the vineyards and soaking in the sea with a bunch of hot cyclists……………..

Definitely one of my most favourite places in the world!

This year I have France ahead of me…will it be better??? Vive le vie!

Leave a Reply

