Culinary Adventures!

This all started after quickly – almost without thought – decided to go to Hong Kong for the holidays. The plane tickets were priced at the most expensive of the year, but I had time (not necessarily the money, but whatever). At first I deterred Conan from coming with me since I’ll be hanging with my family the whole time and the language barrier issue, he came anyway! So I went to Vancouver for a couple of days to chill out with my cousin and to visit one of my most favourite cities in Canada. Then off on a 15 hour plane ride across the pacific to the south China sea! (I like saying the south China sea because it reminds me of James Bond in Tomorrow Never Dies – Love James Bond!)

During my extremely long flight overseas, I had plenty of time to do nothing and to finally do some reading. I love watching Anthony Bourdain – No Reservations, if there is one job I’d want, it’d be his job. Who wouldn’t want to travel the world and eat through it? I had picked up his second novel, Medium Raw, some time ago but I never really got to it until now. It’s a great book! It’s definitely written in a style that I like, which is a first person narrative – ok I just like reading blogs and this was like a blog in a novel.

Anyway, when I was little my relatives from Hong Kong would visit my family and I would ask them loads of questions. More specifically, I had always wondered how this place in the world was different (or the same), as my own. I’d ask “Does Hong Kong have Pizza Hut?”, “Does Hong Kong have spaghetti?” etc..you get the idea and the short and simple answer was always “If it exists, Hong Kong has it.” WELL!!! That peeved me off a bit when I was little because it meant I didn’t live in a superior country after all! Now I was about to find out how spectacular Hong Kong really is…

Now I won’t bore everyone with minute details of my trip but I will say this – Hong Kong is a very impressive city, so impressive that I think it’d be hard to find something more impressive.

Things that really impressed me:

  • MTR – began serving in 1979. It’s an awesome system and the Octopus card is genius. And it’s privatized!!! I think the TTC needs to learn a lot from the MTR. The trains don’t squeak and squeal like the TTC and it’s efficient with minimal delays…AND CHEAP!!! WTF?! *shakes fist at TTC…let’s privatize that shit!
  • Bridges/infrastructure – very impressive…the tunnels, the bridges, the highways, the roads…wow.
  • High density living – loads of it everywhere
  • Convenience – the only place NOT convenient in Hong Kong is if you lived on a deserted mountain.
  • Food – prices are low and the food is awesome!
  • Stores – there are tons of them and they’re all busy! Toronto needs better food!
  • Cleanliness – I never thought that Hong Kong would be so clean…the MTR, the washrooms (well there are some that are nasty)…WOW!

In short – Hong Kong is great! The only major downside – the air quality…I felt like I was suffocating at times =\

Leave a Reply

